Latest news

Penny Price

19 Oct 2014

Penny Price, has been elected a Fellow of the Linnean Society, London:

Penny also received a Silver Gilt medal earlier this year by the RHS for her botanical paintings. 

Penny is the widow of Hugh Price, former Bursar of Darwin College.

We are sorry to announce the death of Sir John Bradfield

16 Oct 2014

Sir John Bradfield died on 13 October 2014 at Great Gate, Trinity College. He was instrumental in the foundation of Darwin College and was an Honorary Fellow, active in College until his death at the age of 89. He will be greatly missed.


Dr Amrita Narlikar to Take Over as New President of GIGA

Dr Amrita Narlikar

18 Sep 2014

The Board of Trustees of the GIGA has installed Dr Amrita Narlikar, Fellow of Darwin College, to lead the institute as its new president. Her term is set to begin on 1 October 2014. Read more...

Appointment of new College Bursar

John Dix

27 Aug 2014

Darwin College is pleased to announce the appointment of John Dix as Bursar to take over from Peter Brindle on his retirement in December. John has for the last ten years been Managing Partner of law firm Hewitsons, a role carrying a wide range of strategic, financial and operational responsibilities. He has been active in the University as a member of its Audit Committee, and is a vice-chair of the Stephen Perse Foundation, having had involvement with the Foundation's buildings projects, development activities, and endowment management. His degrees are in history and law from the University of Sydney, and he practised as a corporate lawyer in both Australia and the UK. He has lived in Cambridge since 1990, is married to a Darwin alumna and together they have three daughters.

Cancer Research UK Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research Prize

29 Jul 2014

Darwin College warmly congratulates Emeritus Fellow Professor Ron Laskey who has been awarded this year's Cancer Research UK Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research Prize.

Darwin Fellow presented with the Rosentiel Award by the Rosentiel Foundation

12 May 2014

Dr Emily Shuckburgh has been presented with the Rosentiel Award by the Rosentiel Foundation: Read more...

Darwin Fellow Elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences

12 May 2014

Professor Carol Brayne has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences:

Darwin Fellows Elected to Royal Society

02 May 2014

The Royal Society has announced the election of new Fellows for 2014. Congratulations to Professor Karalyn Patterson and Professor Vladimir Markovic.

Darwin Fellows among "100 leading UK practising scientists"

28 Apr 2014

Professors Chris Bishop and Jane Francis have been recognised by the Science Council as two of the "100 leading UK practising scientists" in the Investigator Scientist and Explorer Scientist categories respectively.

Darwin Student named one of "30 brightest stars under the age of 30"

06 Jan 2014

Ludmil Alexandrov, PhD student at the Sanger Institute, has been recognised this month by Forbes Magazine as one of the "30 brightest stars under the age of 30 in the Science category." More...


Close menu
Site navigation mobile menu